Close this search box.

Greg Britton Receives 2016 Constituency Award

Editorial Director of Johns Hopkins University Press celebrated during an AAUP 2016 reception at the Barnes Foundation

PHILADELPHIA, PA—Greg Britton, Editorial Director at Johns Hopkins University Press, was honored at the Association of American University Presses (AAUP) Annual Meeting in Philadelphia with the 2016 AAUP Constituency Award, for his tireless commitment to the scholarly publishing community.

The Constituency Award, established in 1991, honors an individual of a member press who has demonstrated active leadership and service, not only in service to the Association but to the scholarly publishing community as a whole. Throughout his time with the AAUP, Britton has served on several committees, including Nominating, Professional Development, and as chair of the 2010 Annual Meeting Program. He has also spoken on numerous Annual Meeting panels, the most recent being “Scholarship in 140 Characters? Using Social Media in Acquisitions” at AAUP 2015 in Denver, Colorado.

“Greg Britton represents a lot of what is best about the AAUP and UP publishing. He is intelligent, passionate, dedicated, loyal, and he’s great fun,” says one nominating colleague. “His contribution to the Annual Meetings in recent years have helped to make them much more vibrant and essential.”

In addition to his committee work with the Association, Britton has also taken great pains to ensure fun and exuberance abounds; he emceed the first annual Solutions Showcase in 2015 and has organized 5K runs through the various locales of the Meetings. Meredith Babb, Director of the University Press of Florida and 2015–2016 President of AAUP, added, “Greg epitomizes the helpful ‘can do’ attitude that makes the AAUP community so wonderful.”

“It’s a terrific honor to receive the AAUP Constituency Award. The AAUP community is the most collaborative, generous group of colleagues I’ve ever been associated with,” said Britton. “Other industries tend to be competitive, but the university press community is very different and it has made it very exciting and rewarding to be a part of it.”

Britton holds both an A.B.D. and a M.A. in History from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and an AB in Liberal Arts from Wabash College. He started in scholarly publishing as the Director of Minnesota Historical Society Press for nine years, from 1999-2008, and later served as Publisher at Getty Publications. Britton has been the Editorial Director of Johns Hopkins University Press since May 2011.

Recent winners of the AAUP Constituency Award also include Carol Kasper, University of Chicago Press (2015); Bob Oeste, Johns Hopkins University Press (2014); and Rebecca Schrader, The MIT Press (2013).

Read more about the history of the Constituency Award and see its complete Honor Roll.

More to Explore


— AUPresses Mission Statement in Chinese (Traditional)