Stand UP Award

University presses exist within a rich and diverse scholarly community, which we support through our work and from which, in turn, we draw support. In recognition of this mutual relationship with the greater scholarly community, the Association of University Presses wishes to honor those individuals who have done extraordinary work to further the work of the university press community.

Beginning in 2020, the Association of University Presses will present the Stand UP Award, to honor a person or group, not currently on staff at a member press, who, through their words and actions, has supported, defended, and celebrated the university press community and mission. They may have stood up for an imperiled press, built grass roots efforts to promote presses, or rallied others to the cause. Nominees, in some cases, may have worked behind the scenes to save a member of our community. There are so many unheralded advocates—the Stand UP Award seeks to recognize them.

Stand UP Award Procedures

Any employee of an Association member press can nominate a recipient. To do so, they should send a letter of nomination detailing why the individual is deserving of the award with links to supporting materials (for example, newspaper or magazine articles, blog posts, etc.). Nominations must be seconded by at least one other individual.

Nomination letters should be addressed to the AUPresses Board of Directors and emailed to Peter Berkery. Nominations are accepted at any time, although a cut-off date will be posted for each year’s consideration. The nomination deadline for 2022 is Tuesday, April 12.

Nominations are reviewed by the awards subcommittee of the Association’s Board of Directors, the same committee that reviews Constituency Award nominations. This subcommittee will make a recommendation for the approval of the Board of Directors.

During years when no nominations are submitted or when, in the judgment of the award subcommittee, no nominee is deemed worthy of the Award, none will be given.

The inaugural award was given posthumously in 2020 to Ned Stuckey-French and in 2021 the Stand Up Award winner was Shawn Wong.

The recipient, if any, of this year’s award will be announced at the AUPresses 2022 Annual Meeting in Washington, DC in June.

Nous faisons avancer le rôle essentiel de la communauté internationale d’éditeurs dont la mission est de veiller à l’excellence académique et de cultiver le savoir.

— AUPresses Mission Statement in French